Sad News

We were saddened to hear that Doug Smith, a great supporter and Honorary Vice-President of the Cricket Section passed away on Thursday 5th October. There will be a service of Thanksgiving to celebrate  Douglas’ life on Thursday 2nd November, 12 noon at Deeside Christian Fellowship Church in Milltimber. All friends are respectfully invited.

Doug was not only a cricket player and supporter, he played the game in the right spirit and firmly believed that sportsmanship, fair play and having fun were the most important aspects of the game.

Champions at last – FPs lift league title

On Saturday 26th of September at 6:12 pm FP’s lifted the Aberdeenshire Grade 1 title for the 1st time in 75 Years, sending a message to the rest of the league that the times are changing and with a strong team ethic you can achieve anything.

A good crowd gathered to watch FPs clinch the title

Going into the game FP’s knew that after the dramatic events of Kellands Park the previous week they would only need 14 points to secure the league title but captain Swiergon insisted his team go for the kill and prove a point to the chasing pack.

Continue reading

Thanks for the Support

Many thanks for all the messages of support that we have received in the last 48 hours following our league triumph.  We have received messages from many former players, many past opponents and from many current opponents and local cricket supporters.

We have done our utmost to respond to everyone individually, but it is always a challenge given all the various mediums.  But if we have missed you – we do appreciate your support.

We congratulate Bon Accord on yet another triumph, both they and Knightriders were formidable opponents throughout the season and it took all we had to keep them at bay in the league.

Finally, the team wish to thank those who came to support on Saturday and everyone that took the time to support us throughout the season. We look forward to welcoming you all back next season.

CHAMPIONS – FPs win Grade 1

FPs have won grade won for the 1st time in 75 years, in an outcome few would have predicted back in April.  Requiring 14 points to be sure of the title, they made 174 for 9 thanks to 48 from skipper Rob Swiergon and 55 from Karan Anand.  Youngster Leston D’Costa also batting superbly for 32 overs to anchor the innings.  This meant FPs had 9 points and when stalwart Roland Knudson claimed the 5th wicket, FPs were champions.  FPs eventually closed out a huge victory as Kemnay Kintore were dismissed for 51, Karan Anand claiming 5 wickets.

It has been a tremendous team and squad effort during the season, with every one of the 19 players who turned out in grade 1 this season contributing to a magnificent achievement.

Teams for 26th and 27th August

1st XI v Kemnay-Kintore (H)

Meet 12.00 at Rubislaw

R Swiergon (c)
K Anand
C Clelland (w)
L d’Costa
C Herd
R Knudson
H Mapplebeck
C McKinney
M Nattrass
E Steinson
J Thomson

Development XI v Banchory (A)

Meet 12.00 at Grammar Club or 12.45 at Banchory

I Johnston (c)
A Ali
S Alvi
Q Farhan
M Farzan
C McKinney
M McCaughtrie
F Monnapillai
P Norwood
D Selveraj
A Sood (w)