About Us

The Cricket Section is one of the original sports sections within the FP Club and currently has 1 senior Saturday teams and have in the past run 3 elevens. We currently play in Grade 2 having been Grade 1 champions in 2021 and then suffering relegation in 2022.  In 2023 FPs won promotion back to Grade 1. We also play in the Bon Accord Cup having previously won the Aberdeenshire Cup in 2021 and the Turriff Cup locally. In addition to this, each year we enter the CS Challenge Trophy which is a nationwide competition. We were successful in winning the precursor to this the Small Clubs Cup in 2016.

We have in the past run junior teams comprising Under 15 and Under 17 boys from the School which is supportive of the Section although this does depend on the talent available in the relevant years at the School.

AGSGPCC were Grade 1 champions and also Aberdeenshire Cup winners in 2021, a truly remarkable double. This was a follow up to the 1st XI winning Grade 1 in 2017, the 1st time the club had won Grade 1 since 1942 and have since been runners up in 2018 and 2019.  2019 was a successful year for the 2nd XI who won the Bon Accord Cup.  Due to Covid and changing social norms a number of players have moved to the central belt in the last 18 months and this had a major impact on the 2022 campaign. In 2023, FPs won Grade 2 and the Bon Accord Cup and will return to Grade 1 for 2024.

We have several qualified coaches in the Club and liaise with the School Physical Education staff to provide additional opportunities for the youngsters to learn about the game.

We play home matches at Rubislaw on Harlaw Road, currently on an artificial pitch which the Cricket Section financed themselves. Regular net practices are held at Rubislaw on Tuesday and Thursday evenings from April to August with winter nets held at The Grammar School gym. For those interested in the social side of the game as well, various events such as a Cheese and Wine, Golf outing, quiz nights and Dinner are organized during the year.

We are always on the look-out for new players who are keen to have an enjoyable game of cricket at the standard of your choice and to join a club with a friendly atmosphere. If you are interested in joining the Club or have any other questions about the Club or this website then please fill in the contact form and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.


H. E. Morrison


1st XI – Agha Haider

Honorary Vice Presidents

C. D. Clelland
J. M. Eagles (Captain 1986, 1987, 1988, 1992)
R. S. T. Ferro (Captain 1980, 1981, 1993, 1994)
J. G. N. Fraser (Captain 1968)
Dr R. Fryer
P. M. I. Hart
I. S. Hopkin
I. D. Johnston
N. E. G. Johnson (Captain 1985)
R. B. Knudson (Captain 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)
D. G. Moir
J. D. Moir (Captain 1983, 1984)
G. E. Morrison (Captain 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016)
H. E. Morrison (Captain 1974, 1976)
A. J. Redhead (Captain 1997, 1998, 1999)
P. A. Redhead (Captain 1989, 1990, 1991, 1995, 1996)
I. P. Souter (Captain 1977, 1978, 1979)
R. A. Swiergon (Captain 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022)