Author Archives: Geoff

FPs Have Day to Forget

FPs had a disastrous day with the bat as they were shot out for just 38 on a sporting Links wicket to lose to Bon Accord by 109 runs and also relinquish top spot in Grade 1. Having reduced on Accord to 77 for 7, Khan hit an enterprising 54 at number 9 as Bons recovered to post 147 all out. FPs chase started disastrously as they lost Nattrass and Morrison in the 1st over and they never recovered as not one batsman registered double figures. For Bons Awan and Mirza both bowled very well to claim 3 wickets each early on.

Continue reading

Karan Ton Propels FPs to Big Win

Keith made another 50 to set the platform

Karan Anand struck his 2nd ton of the season as FPs racked up 316 for 6 before bowling out a young Mannofield team for 130 for a 186 run win. Anand was imperious as he notched his century in just 59 balls, his 2nd fiftty taking just 25 balls. It was not the usual brutal effort, a far more fluent affair with 9 fours and 4 sixes. Alex Keith also hit a half century and Harry Mapplebeck 30 not out as he and Anand shared 121 unbeaten for the 7th wicket in 13 overs. Leading wicket taker Callum Herd then claimed 4 victims (4/27) and was well supported by Fraser Proud (2/21) and John Thomson (2/19).

Continue reading

Rain Interferes Again but 2nds win bowl off

Yet again this season rain put paid to cricket as both 1s and 2s were unable to get any play at home to Cults or away to Stonehaven. After 1s lost a bowl off on Thursday to go out of the cup, 2s at least did win their bowl off, by a margin of 2-1, Sean Harrower and Kapil Bali with the hits.

With Freuchie scratching in the CS Challenge Cup on Sunday, FPs have another weekend with no cricket but at least are through to play Huntly at home 2 weeks on Sunday.

Hopefully next weekend will see some better weather.

Magical Mahesh to FPs Rescue

Mahesh Challa came to FPs rescue as he struck 44 batting at number 9 to lift FPs to an improbable 202 for 9. Harry Mapplebck made a very patient 28 to hold things together after FPs had faltered to 52 for 5 and 101 for 6 with only Rob Swiergon (37) making a contribution in the top order. Challa batting at 9, rode his luck but tried to block the good balls and attacked anything in his zone hitting 3 huge sixes. He then nipped in with a key wicket as FPs bowled out a determined Ellon for 170 despite a poor day in the field where many chances went down. Top bowlers were Callum Herd (2/29) and Karan Anand (3/38), for the visitors Rich Greenfield took an excellent 5 for. Continue reading

FPs Pull Off Rain Heist

Karan judged things perfectly

In a week where a heist at Hatton Garden dominated TV ratings, FPs pulled off a heist of their own in rather wetter circumstances. They secured an unlikely victory by 9 runs by rain calculator against Knigtriders to maintain their 100% record. Chasing just 186 for victory, FPs were deep in the mire at 23 for 4 but an unbroken stand of 106 between Harry Mapplebeck (38*) and Karan Anand (54*) pushed FPs ahead of the par score when the rain became too heavy for the match to continue. If Mapplebeck was the eager runner then Anand was the mastermind behind the plot, correctly deciding that the risk of trying to get the score high enough at the 20 over cut off was too high and rightly gambled that the game would last past the 20 over mark as the rain had relented. He only decided to gamble when it started to get wetter and he blasted 2 sixes in 2 balls to push FPs ahead and then played carefully to ensure they stayed there, knowing a lost wicket would put them behind. Umpire Tariq did a great job to keep the game going as long as it did but ultimately, despite frustration for all players and the official it just became too wet.

Knightriders may well regret throwing away a strong start having been 81 for 1 in 10 overs, only to lose wickets in the middle overs to Callum Herd (2/39) and Jophn Thomson (2/27), losing all momentum to then succumb to 185 all out. Having then had FPs 23/4 they spread the field which allowed Mapplebeck and Anand to bat risk free to set a platform to push the rate up later. Overall though it was a very competitive game between 2 determined sides. Continue reading