Category Archives: 3rd XI Match Reports

Mr Wilkie Teaches Mannofield a Lesson

Grammar fielded 9 players for this Development League game and were grateful to Mannofield who loaned two fielders for much of their bowling stint. After a mutual captain’s decision for Mannofield to bowl we kicked off a 40 over game.

Continue reading

Friendly Start to the New Season

Overcast skies, wind and showers met Grammar at Countesswells for the Victory Shield match against traditional rivals Gordonians. Format to be 40 overs with 8 overs max per bowler. Showers quickly went and we even got some warm sun for our fielding.

First time Grammar captain won the toss and the easiest decision was his as we only had five players at that point. Batting first in bowling-friendly conditions was not ideal but as a friendly match with a competitive edge, at least it would buy us some time for the other 3 to turn up. With 11 at the start, he would have surely bowled first. Continue reading

D’Costa smells the coffee

A belated first Grade 4 match of the season saw AGSFP’s 3rd XI actually field IX  with debutant Chris Durling joining Ian Johnston (c) Aly MacDonald, Tom Murray, Jim Lee (wkt) schoolboys Leston D’Costa, Faraj Monnapillai, Jason Alexander, Arif Ali  to play Methlick 2nd XI (actually X) at Harlaw. Continue reading

3rd XI out of cup

AGSFP’s 3rd XI finally played their first game of the 2017 season when they travelled to the Allan Park to play 2nd Cults in the Johnston Rose Bowl on Saturday 3rd June. Continue reading

Last game lessons for 3rds

The final league match of a soggy season for AGSFP’s 3rd XI was against Methlick 2nds at FP’s adopted home at the Duthie Park. The weather was hot and sunny and perfect for cricket, until the captains went out to the middle for the toss, when the rain started right on cue.

The heavy shower gave the FP’s captain a chance to introduce this weeks seasons debutantes David Blues and Ran Ganapathi to the rest of the team, Kingshuk Ghosh, Aly MacDonald, Rajaa Monnapillai, Matthew McCaughtrie, Divyesh Selvaraj, Jim Lee, Bejoy Joseph, Iain Bell.

Continue reading